top of page

Japanese Cream Bun - Hattendo Cafe

Saw this trendy on Instagram & Facebook few months back then and always wanted to try them because they look amazingly tempting to me. I would say Japan Food is always so up to standard, Checklist cleared!

Hattendo cream bun arrived in Singapore early 2017, setting out their cafe at Tanjong Pagar Centre (Right Opposite Japan Rail Cafe). A cozy cafe which estimate to be able to fit 30-40 pax, serving salads, coffee and super soft and yummy cream buns, probably a great place for people to chill and do catch up session.

Each Cream Bun cost SGD$2.50 and it is available in 5 standard flavours, Custard, Whipped cream, Matcha, Azuki Beans & Chocolate, however lately I think they introduced a new Melon flavour (Check them out on Facebook).

During my visit I only manage to try two flavours, Chocolate & Custard.

Custard & Whipped Cream is their original flavours however due to personal preference I picked custard instead of whipped cream and I'm surprised with the texture and overall taste of it.

The exterior bun is extremely soft but yet fluffy, the ratio of the fillings again the bun is perfect. Every bite of it you could taste the filling with the fluffy bun, this shows how generous they are despite it is only $2.50. Filling is light and not too sweet, definitely a great choice for kids and elderly too as it is soft and not over sweet for a cream bun.

Even for the Chocolate Cream Bun, it is still light and well controlled sweetness, I'm totally surprised with how they prepare their filling, indeed satisfying.

Just by trying two flavours I'm totally in love with it, I guess the other flavours will never go wrong.

Go get yours now, I swear they are worth the hype.

7 Wallich Street, Tanjong Pagar Centre

Operating Hours: Monday - Friday: 10am – 9pm

Saturday - Sunday & PH: 11am – 8pm

bottom of page